Ella Wolfe, Kensington Travis, Sherry Miller, Alec Molloy, Mason Harrison, Addison Harvey, Katelynn Kruebbe, and Kendall Fant

Students at Carthage High School earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These programs celebrate students' hard work in high school and showcase their strong academic performance. The academic honors for rural areas are an opportunity for students to share their strong academic achievements with colleges and scholarship programs that are seeking to recruit diverse talent.

The following Carthage High School students received the National Rural and Small Town Award:

  • Dillon Davenport
  • Kendall Fant
  • Nathanael Griffin
  • Mason Harrison
  • Addison Harvey
  • Miller Ivy
  • Katelynn Kruebbe
  • Taylor Marshall
  • Sherry Miller
  • Alec Molloy
  • Drew Pitts
  • Nayeli Servin
  • Kensington Travis
  • Ella Wolfe

“We’re thrilled to celebrate our students and recognize them for the great work they’ve been doing. We’re proud of their strong academic performance in the classroom and on College Board assessments like the PSAT/NMSQT®, PSAT™ 10, and AP® exams,” said Carthage High School Principal Justin Smith. “There’s so much that makes our students unique, and receiving this honor reinforces this as an asset for their future.”

The criteria for eligible students include:

  • GPA of 3.5 or higher.
  • PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10 assessment scores that are within the top 10% of assessment takers in each state for each award program or earned a score of 3 or higher on 2 or more AP Exams in 9th and 10th grade
  • Attend school in a rural area or small town.

Eligible students are invited to apply on BigFuture during their sophomore or junior year and are awarded at the start of the next school year in time to share their achievements in high school as they plan for the future. At the same time, colleges and organizations using College Board’s Student Search Service™ can connect directly with awardees during the recruitment process.

“It’s becoming increasingly hard for students to be ‘seen’ during the college recruitment process. We’re exceptionally proud of the National Recognition Programs for celebrating students who are at times overlooked but have shown their outstanding academic abilities,” said Tarlin Ray, senior vice president of BigFuture® at College Board. “This is a benefit not only for students but also for colleges and universities committed to recruiting diverse and talented students.”

Pictured Left to Right: Ella Wolfe, Kensington Travis, Sherry Miller, Alec Molloy, Mason Harrison, Addison Harvey, Katelynn Kruebbe, and Kendall Fant (not pictured: Dillon Davenport, Nathanael Griffin, Miller Ivy, Taylor Marshall, Drew Pitts, and Nayeli Servin)